Month: November 2009

  • The Gingerbread Man


    Note: I wrote and posted this last year. I felt like sharing it again. I added the Dickens quote because it reminds me so much of my father and his feelings about Christmas.

    “But I am sure I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round — apart from the veneration due to its sacred name and origin, if anything belonging to it can be apart from that — as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time: the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow-passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys. And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it!’”
    - From A Christmas Carol
    - Charles Dickens

    Weekends at Grandma’s house were always fun, even more so during Advent. She catered a few Christmas dinners for charities, and made tons of cookies, pies, and cakes to sell at holiday sales (for charity organizations, our family’s church, and our schools) and to give as gifts. Her little kitchen was a blur of activity in December. I loved it.

    My “chores” on those weekends (tasks I loved then, and still enjoy now) were wrapping gifts, and decorating cookies. I was never very good at making bows (nowadays I just buy those ready-made bows with an adhesive strip on the back), but I loved to decorate the cookies, especially the gingerbread people.

    One December weekend, the year before my dad passed away, my mother’s cousin Steve, an artist (mostly, he painted) was staying at my grandmother’s house (His home was in Greenwich Village, but my grandmother was his favourite aunt, so he visited often).

    While my grandmother baked gingerbread cookies, Cousin Steve and I sat in the parlour. I posed for him on the big comfy chair in the corner. While he sketched me, we talked about the people and things he had painted recently. I asked him how come he could draw people and make them look like people, and I drew people that looked mostly like snowmen. He tipped his head a bit to the side and smiled at me.

    “Let me think about it for a minute, please,” he said. He did not stop sketching.

    My grandmother called out that the cookies were out of the oven. She said we could decorate them in an hour, when they were cooler. She walked into the parlour and sat down on the footstool near the stairs.

    “What you drawing?” She asked Steve.

    “My sweetheart.” He winked at me. I smiled and he teased me for not keeping my pose.

    My grandmother stood and looked over Steve’s shoulder. Then, she looked up at me. She patted my cousin’s shoulder. “It really looks like her,” she said.

    “I wanna see,” I said.

    He shook his head slowly and grinned. “You have to wait until I’m done,” he teased.

    “Fine,” I said, and switched my pose to that of The Thinking Man. He and my grandmother laughed.

    “Tch, I’m almost done anyway,” Steve said. A minute later (it seemed like forever, but it was probably just a minute), he said, “Okay. It’s done.”

    I jumped from the chair to the sofa. Sitting next to him, I looked over at his sketch.

    I frowned.

    “I thought you were drawing me,” I said.

    “That is you,” he said gently. “You don’t see it? Look again.”

    I looked again. I looked longer this time. The girl in the picture was beautiful. She was curled up on the big comfy chair in the corner, writing in her journal. She wore a frilly-looking dress (I wore jeans and my favourite Christmas sweater that day). Her long hair was loose, falling over one shoulder (my long hair was pulled into a ponytail).

    My grandmother said, “Look at the eyes.”

    The eyes bothered me. They were really pretty, but there was something kind of sad about them that I did not like.

    I said, “She’s beautiful, though. I’m…”

    You’re beautiful, sweetheart,” Steve said. “That’s you.”

    I didn’t get it, but it was sweet. I smiled at my mom’s cousin.

    When my grandmother returned to her kitchen, he put the picture in my lap. “You asked me about how I draw people, right?”

    I nodded, my fingers tracing the lines of his drawing.

    He told me that there was more to making a portrait of someone than just drawing or painting what he or she looked like. The trick, Steve said, was to capture someone’s spirit, the subject’s personality.

    “I draw people. I draw what they look like. But I try to kind of get their… insides into the picture, too.”

    I didn’t get it, but it sounded nice. I smiled at Steve.
     
    When my grandmother suggested that I make a special gingerbread man for my father as part of his Christmas present, I decided to put Cousin Steve’s idea into play. I told Grandma and Steve what I wanted to do, and they offered to help.

    I ripped off a large piece of parchment paper and placed a cooled gingerbread man on top of it. My grandmother pulled out all of her decorations for me to use, and placed them on the kitchen table.

    I stared at the blank gingerbread man for a while, wondering how I could make it look like my dad. What was his spirit? What did his personality look like?

    The first thing I did was to dip a thin brush into bright green frosting and give him two small blobby eyes.

    I glued a tiny upturned piece of red licorice below the eyes. Okay. He’s smiling now.

    I frowned. It was okay, but not exactly what I wanted. The eyes were the right colour, and my father did smile more around Christmas than any other time of the year…

    My grandmother looked at the face. “Well, that looks like him, so far.”

    “No, it doesn’t,” I said in a daze, “But I’ll think of something.”

    Steve said, “Wanna know a trick?”

    I smiled at him. His head was tilted again. “Yes, please,” I said.

    “Think about him and close your eyes. The first thing you see is…”

    I did so as Steve spoke. I smiled. “The first thing I see is the shop.”

    “There you have it.”

    Grandma, Cousin Steve and I sat in the kitchen for hours. My grandmother and I sat at the table; Steve sat in a kitchen chair pulled far from the table. He was closer to the sink, drawing.

    I hammered a black gumdrop flat. My grandmother cut out safety goggles from it. She very carefully glued it so that the green blob-eyes were not disturbed. I painted blue jeans on him. My grandmother mixed up a sort of caramel-coloured frosting for his work boots, and used scraps for black licorice for the laces.

    For me, the most difficult part was painting on a flannel shirt. Using darkish blue, black and white frostings, and three different-sized brushes, I worked very slowly and gave the gingerbread man one of my dad’s favourite shirts.

    Grandma took the mallet to another black gumdrop. She cut tiny almost-circular shapes out of it. With a pin, she added buttonholes. I glued the gumdrop buttons on carefully, scared I would smudge the plaid shirt.

    I smiled down at the cookie. “Wow. It really looks like Daddy, now, doesn’t it?”

    My grandmother said, “Yes… but you have to give him hair!”

    I shook my head and laughed. My father had a full head of thick, almost-black hair, but he had taken to shaving his head lately. I liked the way he looked bald.

    I said, “No, Gram. No hair. He likes being like Kojak!”

    Steve chuckled behind his sketchpad.

    My grandmother laughed, flattened another gumdrop, a red one, and cut it into a little lollipop. Giggling, I glued it into his hand. “Who loves ya, baby?” I joked.

    Steve put his sketchpad down on the counter, stood up and came to the table. He inspected the cookie carefully. He kissed the top of my head and said, “You did a beautiful job, Vanessa.”

    I smiled up at him. “Did I capture his spirit?”

    He knelt beside me, his eyes level with mine. He tilted his head, winked and said, “You got him, sweetheart.”

    When I gave my father the gingerbread man on Christmas morning, his reaction made me happier than any of the presents I had opened.

    “Wow,” he said. “It’s me!” Big Smile.

    “Yup… When you’re in the shop. See? You even have your glasses on!”

    He kissed the side of my forehead. “It’s great!”

    “You like it?” I asked.

    “I love it.” He kissed my cheek. “But… Uh… Why the lollipop?”

    I smiled. “Kojak.”

    My father laughed. “Kojak,” he echoed, shaking his head with a smile.

    My mother and brothers loved the cookie. Everyone commented on the work that must have gone into the plaid flannel shirt. He made a point of showing it to everyone who came to visit.

    The next day, the cookie was given a protective coating and a place of honour in his workshop downstairs. A bunch of my dad’s friends hung out with him in the shop that day, drinking beer and talking about things they wanted to fix or build. I sat on the stairs, listening. My heart sang when they discussed the gingerbread man up on the shelf, and how much it looked like my father.

    When we went to my grandmother’s house on New Year’s Eve, her Christmas present from Cousin Steve was hanging on the wall by the big comfy chair in the corner of the parlour: A framed painting of a beautiful little angel-girl in a frilly dress with almost see-thru wings and golden halo, her waist-length, red-brown hair loose and hanging over one shoulder, a smile on her face – and in her eyes – as she decorated a gingerbread man at my grandmother’s kitchen table.

    My father studied the painting for a few minutes. He looked over at me and held his hand out. I took it and let him pull me closer to him.

    “Steve’s good, isn’t he? Looks just like you.”

  • Thanks and Giving (EDIT TO ADD)

    EDIT: Added some additional organizations!

    I wasn’t going to post anything else until next year sometime, after our move to the Midwest… But I think that this is important.

    I do not usually write posts like this; typically, I write memories or about the weird antics of my cats… you know, just “stuff”. Well, lately, I am doing a lot of things that I don’t “usually” do, and that seems to be working out well, so… Give me a second, here.

    ::: hopping up onto my orange crate :::

    There.

    This is for all of us, but I‘m especially calling on you, you, you… and yes. You, too. You know who you are.

    No matter who we are: political views, religion, colour of skin, country of origin, sexual orientation… no matter who we are:

    We are all screwed up in one way or another. We have all suffered. Everyone’s gotten the icky end of the lollipop at one time or another. The economy sucks; we’re at war. We are, more and more often, finding that we must sacrifice something to obtain something else.

    But we are all here. We are all human beings.

    And no matter who we are, what we do with our lives, or where we are from, or what our childhoods were like, there are people who are much worse off than we are.

    That bears repeating, I think: There are people who are much worse off than we are.

    I am asking you to consider those less fortunate than you – not just during the holiday season, but hey, it’s a fine time to start – and give.

    Give.

    I know (believe me; I have not worked since March… I KNOW) that times are tough. If you have a little extra money, God bless you; please, give some of it to a homeless shelter or soup kitchen (maybe buy them a couple of turkeys?), or donate a toy or two.

    If you don’t have extra money, God bless you; give some of the things you already have: coats, blankets, clothes you haven’t worn in a year, canned/boxed goods that have been collecting dust in your pantry… stuff like that. Send your extra holiday greeting cards to soldiers far from home. Knit your scrap yarn into hats, scarves and mittens for needy children.

    Give your time: Serve a meal or two at your local shelter or soup kitchen. Maybe collect non-perishable items from your neighbours. Volunteer to help people put their resumes together at the local job center, if you’re good at that kind of thing.

    Let’s be thankful for all that we have, and give others cause to be happy. It will make us feel good. In giving, we receive.

    ::: stepping off of my crate :::

    A few suggestions:

    http://www.toysfortots.org/

    https://www.uso.org/donate/custom.aspx?id=1384&

    http://www.salvationarmy.org/ihq/www_sa.nsf

    http://www.christmascharitiesyearround.org/

    http://www.justgive.org/?gclid=CMXY05SKk54CFcx25QodbQs_tw

    http://www.knittingforcharity.org/

    for folks in New Jersey:
    http://www.wemeananygarment.com/charity.html

    Operation Christmas Child (Thank you, ccarothers!)
    http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/OCC/index/

    Donate a coat for the homeless by November 30th, 2009 at the Lands’ End Shop @ Sears, and receive 20% off of a purchase! Through The Big Warmup: www.bigwarmup.com

    Donate blood to help support our troops! http://www.defendamerica.mil/articles/apr2003/a040403g.html?&title=Go%20to%20Donate%20Blood.

    Look online, in your yellow pages and in your local newspapers. Check with your fire department, homeless shelter… there are all kinds of programs you can get involved with… or start your own!

    I will leave you with the beautiful words of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow:

    I heard the bells on Christmas day
    Their old familiar carols play,
    And wild and sweet the words repeat
    Of peace on earth, good will to men.

    And thought how, as the day had come,
    The belfries of all Christendom
    Had rolled along th’ unbroken song
    Of peace on earth, good will to men.

    Till ringing, singing on its way
    The world revolved from night to day,
    A voice, a chime, a chant sublime
    Of peace on earth, good will to men.

    And in despair I bowed my head:
    “There is no peace on earth,” I said,
    “For hate is strong and mocks the song
    Of peace on earth, good will to men.”

    Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
    “God is not dead, nor does He sleep;
    The wrong shall fail, the right prevail
    With peace on earth, good will to men.”

    Happy holidays!

  • Sam In Love


    “There are no ordinary cats.”
    -Collette

    My Sam, our big boy-kitty (please see my profile picture) is a character. I’ve had several cats (or, as they see it, they’ve had me) throughout my life: Charlie was my little brother, Nappy was my lover-boy, G.G. was my roommate and confessor, and Jag was our buddy… Sam is my baby… and my puppy.

    We adopted Sam when he was three months old (and already huge… he is part Maine Coon). He was a little bit people-shy, but we very quickly realised that he was not dog-shy. When we took him back to the vet (where we adopted him) after a month or two for a routine check-up, we told Dr. Kris about Sam’s dog-like habits of playing fetch, chewing on my slippers, and sort of barking at the neighbours’ dogs, et cetera. Kris laughed and told us: “Well, he was born downstairs in the kennel. We let him wander around pretty freely, since he had such a calming effect on the dogs.”

    Sam liked to nap with the dogs in the kennel, and played with the puppies in the little fenced-in yard.

    All of this explained a lot. To this day (Sam turned nine years old on July 4, 2009), Sam LOVES a good game of fetch. My slippers are always soggy (even though Sam no longer has teeth). He’s made friends with many of the dogs that live in our complex. During the warmer months, he sits in the window and “talks” to his canine friends when they are out for their walks. He has a weird meow for them that is very similar to a bark.

    I guess we shouldn’t have been surprised when Sam fell in love with Sylvia, a mostly-white American Pit-bull. She and her owners lived here for a few months, and then moved to a place up the road. I don’t know who couldn’t fall in love with her; she’s sweet, friendly, very smart, and Sylvia is a beauty queen with her big blue eyes, sweet pink nose and impeccable fashion sense (she usually goes with a simple pink bow on her collar… understated and classy… that’s Sylvia!).

    To say that Sam was a smitten kitten would be an understatement. Oh, the meowing that went on!!!

    … And, Sam’s affections were returned. Sylvia’s owners could not keep her from breaking free of her leash and running to our front door every single time they took her outside.

    Every morning, around six, I’d hear someone yell, “Sylvia! NO!” A few seconds later, I’d hear Sylvia scratching at our storm door; this was accompanied by Sam’s meowing like his heart was breaking.

    Sam is not an outdoor cat (especially because he no longer has teeth), but I let him onto the front porch with Sylvia. They’d sniff at each other and give each other kisses. He’d purr and she’d murmur like she was in Heaven. Sylvia would bow down and Sam would put his front paws on top of her head and clean her ears. Her tail would swish back and forth at about 60 mph.

    The same thing would happen another three or four times each day.

    Then, Sylvia disappeared.

    Alas. My little man moped around the apartment, meowing… oh, such mournful meowing!!!

    Then, one morning back in October, Ken and I were sitting, having coffee and muffins. All of a sudden, Sam, who had been sleeping on his chair by the window, jumped up and ran for the front door, sliding on the linoleum (on his big ol’ butt). He slammed into the door, meowing frantically.

    Ken and I were laughing and saying, “What got into him?” Then we heard barking, and there was scratching on the storm door. Ken opened the door and there was Sylvia, her leash on the ground behind her.

    I let Sam out onto the porch and he got the life licked out of him. He gave as good as he got.

    The lady who owns Sylvia came running up the hill all out of breath and apologizing… like we’d be upset or something, right?

    That was when we found out that the couple and Sylvia moved just up the road. On their way out somewhere, they stopped to check their old mailbox here. The lady said that as soon as they turned into the driveway, the dog went nuts. When they parked she put the leash on, thinking Sylvia just needed to “use the facilities”. As soon as the car door opened, the dog ran right to our door.

    The guy-owner looked mildly annoyed. The chiquita was cool about it; she and I pretty much ignored him… Sylvia was almost flat on her belly with her tail going 60 mph. Sam was holding her head down and cleaning behind her ears. The lady was like, “I can’t believe how STILL she’s laying there!” (Sylvia is a hyper puppy).

    After they left (their parting was such sweet sorrow… I swear, Sam was slick and shiny with dog slobber), Sam went inside and slept most of the day away, content.

    Sylvia comes to visit about once a week, now. Same sappy love scene on my front porch each time. My cat smells like a wet dog most of the time. Mikey, our other cat, looks on (from a distance… Mikey does NOT like dogs) with what can only be described as disgust. My husband and I preach tolerance, but I don’t think she is listening.

    What will Sam do after next month, when we move to Wisconsin, cruelly ripping him from his ladylove?

    Well… Sam will be staying with some of Ken’s cousins for a while when we get to Wisconsin. One of their neighbours has many dogs (she is some kind of breeder, I think). I’m sure that will help to keep Sam’s mind off of Sylvia… Well. I hope it will help, anyway. My poor little man!

    Note: Because our moving date was rescheduled (we were originally going to leave in February 2010; we are now set to move right after Christmas), I doubt that I will be online much, if at all, after this weekend. I definitely won’t have time to write much of anything… so I wanted to take this time to wish good luck to my friends who are participating in NaNo, and to wish you all happy holidays! 

  • Beatrice & Benedick

    “Thou and I are too wise to woo peaceably.”
    -Benedick, Much Ado About Nothing
    -William Shakespeare

    It was our third or fourth date, about eleven years ago, when I knew I really liked the man that would become my husband.  I already knew I loved Ken, whether I wanted to admit that or not; I knew that on our first date. This was different.

    It was Memorial Day weekend. Ken was stationed at Fort Bragg. He had a weekend pass and a buddy who was driving up to Fairfield to visit his family (turns out his friend’s family lives about five minutes away from my mom’s house, where I was staying). After he and his other buddy, Birddog (I think his real name is Eugene) met my mother (an event that turned out to be way cooler than I thought it would), the three of us went over to my best friend Jeanne’s house for a little while. Ken struck up a conversation with her brother, Scot, who had been in the army. Scot is a good guy, but he comes off as kind of mean or anti-social at first. He doesn’t laugh easily. Ken had him laughing almost instantly. I looked across the room, where Jeanne stood, staring back at me. Wow.

    Birddog, Ken and I went to a diner (it might have been a Friendly’s). While we ate, I did that thing that I do when I am comfortable with someone: I played with words.

    Most of my friends know what that means; I realise many of you don’t. I will try to explain here. It is something I have done all of my life, a game I used to play almost exclusively with my father when I was a little Vanessa; one of us would say something random, and the other would quickly reply with something just as weird. It would continue, a fast-moving nonsense conversation punctuated with a bunch of laughter, until one of us could not “top” the other’s statement. I only “won” a few times as a child – my father was very quick – but as an adult, I had only had two friends who understood what was going on, and only one that could “keep up”… sometimes.

    Ken had played along well, and kept up with me from day one. He never looked at me like I had grown a second head or told me to grow up, as some guys had before him. He seemed to have as much fun as I did.

    That night, at the diner, he “beat” me. No one had actually “beaten” me in years. I’m not bragging, but I am usually very fast with words.

    We moved on to ragging on each other, topping one another, laughing and making Birddog laugh.

    I forgot what the last thing I said was. I know it was funny, but for me, it was eclipsed by what Ken said afterward:

    He chuckled, took my hand across the table and said, “Thou and I are too wise to woo peaceably.”

    When I didn’t say anything, he began to explain Much Ado About Nothing to me. I let him go on while I sat there and smiled. Boy knows his Shakespeare.

    When Ken was done with his synopsis, I quoted, “… They never meet but there’s a skirmish of wit between them.”

    Birddog said, “You guys are made for each other.”

    Darned if he wasn’t right; the merry war betwixt Benedick and Beatrice continues, and it is great fun.

  • A Pre-Christmas Memory


    Note: This is my submission for Featured_Grownups.

    1973, A few days before Christmas…

    When I woke up that morning, my brothers (I have four of them, three older, one younger than me) were all yelling, “It’s snowing! It’s snowing!” I could hear them laughing and running around the house. I remember them calling to each other, asking, “Where are my gloves?” and “Where are my boots?” There were answers: “Who cares? I need to find MINE!” and “If they were up your ass, you’d know it!”

    I got up and went to my bedroom window. “Oooh! It’s sticking!” I squealed. “It’s gonna be a white Christmas!” I got dressed quickly; I remember putting my play clothes on over my pajamas, to be extra warm, and putting on two pairs of socks (I usually stole my brothers’ heavy socks in the winter).

    I ran into the kitchen from my bedroom, all bundled up, ready to go out, except for my boots. My parents were sitting at the kitchen table, drinking coffee, and they started to laugh.

    “It takes her an hour to get out of bed for school,” my father exclaimed, “But on a snow day… look at her! Ready before seven!”

    My mother said, “Breakfast first. Then you can go out and play.”

    My three older brothers were gone. “How come they get to go out?”

    My father said, “They’re shoveling. Do you want to shovel?”

    “Yeah!” Anything to be out in all of that fluffy ice-cold white stuff.

    My mother frowned. “Sit at the table. Ladies don’t shovel.”

    I looked at my dad, feeling hopeful, but he said, “You heard your mother. Breakfast.”

    “Ladies don’t get to do anything,” I grumbled, taking my coat off.

    I ate my eggs in record time, and stole some of my dad’s coffee when he wasn’t looking (I was allowed to drink coffee, but it was more fun to steal sips from his cup).

    “Can I go out now?”

    My father said, “As soon as Tadpole’s ready.”

    My dad took my younger brother, Tadpole and me out for a “Walk Through A Wintery Wonderland.” We walked to the telephone company so that my father could pay the phone bill. From there, we went to La Crown Market to pick up groceries, last minute Christmas food. Just before we entered the store, I whined about being cold. Tadpole said, “This’ll warm you up!” and shoved a handful of snow down the back of my coat.

    I squealed and picked up snow to throw at him… only, instead of hitting my younger brother’s face, I hit my father’s hand, knocking his cigarette to the ground.  I thought he would be angry, but he laughed and kicked a little snow at both of us…

    … And that’s how my father slipped backwards and fell onto his butt.

    Tadpole and I stood still and silent for a few seconds, unsure if the fall had hurt Dad (or at least ticked him off). When my father began to laugh, my younger brother and I attacked.

    Laughing like crazy people, we filled my dad’s coat with snow (most of it went down his back), and I rubbed snow in his hair. My younger brother fell on top of him, screaming, “Let’s bury him in the snow!”

    My father, covered in the white cold fluff, lifted his arms and growled, “I am the abominab-bubb-allll snowmannnnnnnnn!” and began tickling us. Other people going into and coming out of La Crown Market were quite entertained. I remember the Santa Claus Guy outside (I think he was a Salvation Army dude) cheering us on and laughing.

    I don’t know how long we played in front of La Crown Market, but I know that by the time we got the groceries (just about everyone in the aisles laughed at us) and walked home, the three of us were frozen through.

    My mother said, “Oh my God! My floor!” when we walked through the front door. Then she started laughing.

    She looked at my dad and said, “What the hell happened to you?”

    “They attacked me,” he said. “Your children are vicious, Mrs. G___.”

    My mother looked at me and said, “What did you kids do to your father?”

    Tadpole said, “Meh-uh started it!” (My younger brother had a speech impediment when we were kids. “Meh-uh” was how he said, “Vanessa”.)

    I had not started it, but I shrugged. “Mom, I couldn’t help it. He’s the abominab-bubb-allll snowmannnnn!” I lifted my arms and growled like my father had outside of the market.

    My younger brother laughed at my impression of our father.

    My dad, peeling off his coat, whined, “Your kids are mean to me!”

    My mother said, “I should send them out with you more often.”

    His eyes opened wide. He was indignant. “Hey! I’m freezing over here!”

    My mom said, “Yeah? I’ll warm you up!”

    They left Tadpole and me to get our own boots off. I looked at my brother and said, “How’s she gonna warm him up?”

    Tadpole shrugged and said, “I don’t know. Maybe she’ll stick him in the oven.”

     

  • Looking For A Book?

    If you can’t find the book you’re looking for…

    You’re probably at the…


  • It All Began With Frogs


    October is usually our last month with the frogs. They first appear in late spring; there’s usually that low twang emanating from the pond all night (the Bull’s mating call), and then whoosh! Little froggies are hopping all over the place.

    During the summer, I like to leave our outside light on at night. It attracts the bugs… and they attract the frogs. Sometimes, I’ll open the front door (leaving the screen door closed). Sam and Mikey, our cats, will sit and watch the little frogs jump up onto our screen door, closer and closer to the light, closer and closer to the bugs. There have been times when the cats have jumped in sync with the frogs, front paws clapping together as if catching an insect, too… or perhaps a frog.

    The frog population out front thins in the summer months. Our pond is actually the center of the apartment complex parking lot, so we see squished little green guys all over the place. The frogs get squashed in the grass at night, too, because people walking back and forth to their cars don’t see them hiding in there.

    In September and October, there’s a sudden rise in frog population. Ken and I tiptoe around them, and we always bring out the flashlight when walking on the grass at night. They are happy little guys, hopping around the grass and the fallen leaves.

    Then they’re gone. Poof!

    As Ken and I walked up the leaf-covered hill last night (home from grocery shopping), we talked about the frogs. How we miss them once they are gone, even though, when they are here, we have to step lightly and stuff.

    The conversation pointed me in the direction of a sort of new thought: I’m going to miss this place when we go.

    I never loathed living here. It isn’t perfect or anything: it’s too small, it’s too expensive, we’ve had strange neighbours, this was where we were when we discovered we cannot have children, this is where we almost broke up, and this is where my mother broke her hip…

    But this is also where we moved when Ken got his first big promotion. This is where we lived when Ken proposed to me. This is where we were when we found out that my best friend gave birth to her son.

    All of the gifts from my wedding shower in Wilton were crammed into the living/dining area, and Ken and I laughed as we said in unison: “We’re gonna need a bigger boat!’ (He and I do a lot of Jaws references.)

    This living room is where my younger brother, Tadpole and I stayed up most of the night before my wedding, after the rehearsal dinner (Ken spent that night with a bunch of guys at the hotel. He didn’t want to see me on the day of the wedding until it was time… We are a little bit superstitious about some things.). The next night, I was up all night with my new husband, and again, the living/dining area was stuffed with gifts. I recall that we didn’t care so much about them at the time. We spent that whole week not caring about gifts or thank-you notes or anything wedding- or outside world-related. It was one of the loveliest weeks of my life, and we didn’t even go anywhere.

    This is the place where my mother and I finally became good friends, and I got to see her through her last years.

    That was last year, just before the frogs came back and then went off again, to wherever they go during the cold months of the year. I’ve done almost everything my mother wanted me to do after her parting. There is only one thing left.

    “Live your life, now,” she said. “Take that sweet husband of yours and get the hell out of here!”

    When Ken got his promotion a few months ago and started working at the store in Holyoke, I thought, Okay, we’ll move to Massachusetts, then (It is almost an hour each way!).  We planned on moving at the end of February, when our lease is up (it is too costly to break the lease here. I am still out of work, so we do not have much money.).

    Change of plans: We will be moving to Wisconsin, to be closer to Ken’s family. This isn’t really a new idea; we wanted to move out there years ago. I could not leave my mother back then.

    When I realised that Ken’s latest promotion wasn’t all it was cracked up to be, I brought the subject of moving out to Wisconsin up again. The next day, Ken’s dad, Sam (yeah… my cat is named after his grandpa, sort of) sent us an email saying he would be visiting soon. He came, and we told him we wanted to move out there. He has offered all kinds of support; so has the rest of Ken’s HUGE family.

    I will miss this place. I will miss my friends and of course, I will miss my beach. Once we get back on our financial feet, we’ll plan visits. Until then, I plan on using the phone and email a lot.

    As for my beach? It’s as much a part of me as I am a part of it. It goes wherever I go. I’ll probably take a jar of its sand with me, for good luck, but I think that the beach and I will be all right.
     
    Yep. I’m taking that sweet husband of mine and getting the hell out of here.
     
    I have it on good authority that there are frogs in Wisconsin…