Month: November 2011

  • Very Lucky

    I’ve seen her in passing; she is a petite, older woman who owns a cute little mutt; she brings him into the kennel once in a while for daycare.

    Last Saturday morning, when we came in to see The Sam, the lady was sitting next to our cat on the bench in the reception area. Her little dog sat at her feet, chewing on a horse hoof.

    I kind of got the feeling she was waiting for us.

    “Hiya, Handsome,” I said, reaching down for a head-butt. “Good morning,” I said to the lady.

    “You’re Sam’s people, right?”

    “Yes,” Ken and I answered in unison.

    She tickled our cat under the chin. “One day, I came in here to pick up Sandy, and… well, I was just having a very bad day.”

    I did not want to pry, but I nodded for her to go on, as Ken took The Sam out for a walk. I sat next to her.

    “I was sitting, waiting for someone to bring Sandy out to me, and.” She paused, and I thought she was going to cry. Whatever’s going on with her, it’s bad, I thought.

    “Well, I had seen Sam around, of course. I mean, he is a little hard to miss. Such a big boy,” she said with a little chuckle. I smiled. I’m used to people commenting on his size.

    “I was just having a very bad day,” she said. “I sat here, with my head in my hands.”

    I knew what was coming. If she was crying…

    “I didn’t even hear him hop up on the bench. The next thing I knew, his paw was stroking the side of my face. So soft.”

    She grinned a little bit before continuing. “Now, whenever I’m here, I like to sit and visit with Sam a while. That day… It was just exactly what I needed; you know?”

    I nodded. I do know. The first time I met The Sam, he wiped tears from my eyes. I shared that story with her. In the meantime, Ken and The Sam returned from the doggie play yards. Our cat jumped onto my lap, and pawed at the lady’s arm: Pet me.

    “He’s such a good boy,” she said to me, patting his head. “You’re very lucky.”

    Don’t I know it.

  • Quick Note From The Sam

    Happy Thanksgiving, Everyone! Now, gimme your turkey!