Month: November 2008

  • Horizons

    Ever think about floating around in space?

    I think that may be what heaven is like. Floating. Peaceful. Quiet (well, except for maybe some cool tunes playing nonstop). Touching stars, maybe grazing them with your body as you waft on by. Revolving around the sun endlessly, covered with dust that has existed since long before you or I were thought of.

    At Disney World, my favourite ride was always this thing called “Horizons,” at Epcot. It is really about inventions, but there is this bit where it goes completely dark, and your car goes from a bottom rail to a top rail, and suddenly, all you see are stars. You are floating out in space. It always makes me a little nervous when it first switches rails like that, but damn! Once you realise you’re just out there with all of those stars (okay, I KNOW it’s all smoke-n-mirrors, Disney-style, but I get into using my imagination!), just suspended in space, part of the universe, it is exhilarating.

    You watch this family go through generations of inventions (and several reprises of the same horrible song, of course… it IS Disney World, after all!). That part is pretty boring, honestly… But, at the end, you get to choose your personal favourite environment to be in. I think the choices are space, underwater and the desert. Doesn’t matter. I’ve always chosen space.

    Took my breath away every time.

    I am not an astronomer by any stretch of the imagination. I do not know how everything out there in the universe works. I enjoy watching the stars and planets from the front yard, and I love to watch television programs about it. That is fun…

    But feeling like I am part of it is exciting.

    I need to go to Disney World again soon, I think…