November 16, 2008

  • Horizons

    Ever think about floating around in space?

    I think that may be what heaven is like. Floating. Peaceful. Quiet (well, except for maybe some cool tunes playing nonstop). Touching stars, maybe grazing them with your body as you waft on by. Revolving around the sun endlessly, covered with dust that has existed since long before you or I were thought of.

    At Disney World, my favourite ride was always this thing called “Horizons,” at Epcot. It is really about inventions, but there is this bit where it goes completely dark, and your car goes from a bottom rail to a top rail, and suddenly, all you see are stars. You are floating out in space. It always makes me a little nervous when it first switches rails like that, but damn! Once you realise you’re just out there with all of those stars (okay, I KNOW it’s all smoke-n-mirrors, Disney-style, but I get into using my imagination!), just suspended in space, part of the universe, it is exhilarating.

    You watch this family go through generations of inventions (and several reprises of the same horrible song, of course… it IS Disney World, after all!). That part is pretty boring, honestly… But, at the end, you get to choose your personal favourite environment to be in. I think the choices are space, underwater and the desert. Doesn’t matter. I’ve always chosen space.

    Took my breath away every time.

    I am not an astronomer by any stretch of the imagination. I do not know how everything out there in the universe works. I enjoy watching the stars and planets from the front yard, and I love to watch television programs about it. That is fun…

    But feeling like I am part of it is exciting.

    I need to go to Disney World again soon, I think…

Comments (22)

  • I’m definitely a star gazer too.  Always looking at the night sky just in case I see a shooting star – make a wish etc etc …. V

  • I’ve never been to Disney .. Land nor World. But I have seen photos and something on Tv about the Horizons .. I would use my imagination as well if I were to experience it. I love space. I always look up at night and early in the mornings before going to work. Its so peaceful and so clean.. It is also like a deep breath. 

  • That’s how I felt at the Exploratorium in New York with Tom Hanks narrating. I sat back in that chair and thought I was getting shot out into space.  It was so cool.

  • Just think, I believe we’re all going to be able to go to space and witness this first hand. It will happen, and it will be affordable, and it will be in our lifetime. I can’t wait!

  • @jacksoncroons - I would love that so much!

  • @venice - I still wish on every falling star I see.

    @Change_from_a_Penny - ”like a deep breath” describes it perfectly.

    @Jaynebug - You know, I’ve never seen that.

  • This reminded me of a great memory I have stored in the back of my head..

    There is nothing quite like a late night exploration. Sitting in the passenger seat with soothing melodies ringing, just looking at that big ol’ hunk of cheese up in the sky. It makes me feel nice inside.

  • @thethreeevils - Those kinds of memories are some of my favourites. Thank you! Made ME feel nice inside.

  • I used to think that in heaven, angels carried you around in hammocks made of clouds and fed you foot loops.

    Anyhow. I’ve got to check out that ride at Disney World

  • Good grief, take me with you!  That sounds awesome.  Of course, I couldn’t help but thinking of a brilliant little Monty Python song from The Meaning of Life, but, I am demented that way.

  • fun, fantasy, frolic…dream, dream, dream, with our imagination, we can do it all!

    hugs,
    sage

        

  • oh, I love that ride.
    :]

    and I’m definitely somebody who can get caught up in my imagination as well.  wouldn’t have it any other way.  probably makes the ride (and Disney World, for that matter.  heck, probably the ENTIRE world) more fun.

  • @adventofreason - ”… and pray that there’s intelligent life somewhere up in space, cause there’s bugger all down here on earth!” See? Like any true Monty Python freak, I just HAVE to spew out quotes… I never thought it could happen to me, but now I realise… I need help!

    You can totally come along! Need a week: 4 days at Disney, 1 day at Sea World, 1 day at Universal, and definitely 1 day at the JFK Space Center! And if we decide to blow off a day, there are some really great outlet stores and Old Town to visit in Kissimee-St Cloud (we always stay there, at the Days Suites… it is dirt cheap, really nice, and central to all of the “attractions”!)…

  • @kcakes - Yay! I don’t know how people can get through life withOUT their imaginations! It makes everything more fun!

    I am so glad you stopped by… and thank you for the invite!

  • @WayoftheWolf - Well said! I’m happy you stopped over. BTW, you have a killer screen name!

    @youngvan - Fruit Loops? Awesome!!!!! I love your imagination!!!

  • Good Afternoon,  I enjoyed reading your profile. lol Now I have to go redo mine. I got an inferiority complex reading yours.

    I don’t think about floating around in heaven too much. I really was born to be a bottom line thinking businessman–now retired. I am sort of trying to branch out into some things more cultural and artistic.

    RYC thanks for the visit and kind comment.

    Blessings

    frank

  • I’m going to DW in March for the first time in 11 years!  I’m so excited I can hardly stand it!  If we make it to Epcot I’ll make sure to give Horizons a try!

  • Time and again, I think of being in a tiny spacecraft that could travel mega lightyears a second. I think of going to all the beautiful and silent areas in the universe. Then I think of going to the edge of the farthest galaxy and looking deep into the eternal darkness beyond.
    Really helps me put things in perspective.

  • and I love your screen name as well…mine lives up to me, I been around for a while!!!  lololol

    hugs,
    sage 

  • that space thing is weiiiiiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrddd !!! yer a weiiiiirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrddooo–but a cute one—-hey nessa—–hope you have been well——-

  • if you revolved around the sun you’d be a planet …and to be a planet you’d have to be very big and if you were that big–yer butt wood be huge—it would have to have it’s own congressman—–

  • It can’t have effect in fact, that is exactly what I suppose. here 6 2. Thanks for this article, really useful piece of writing. go 6 go. This can’t work in reality, that’s what I think. here 7 1. This cannot have effect in actual fact, that’s what I think.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *