Month: September 2011

  • AM Radio Bits

    I remember these songs being on the radio a LOT when I was a little kid:

  • Oh, Jess: You Asked For It!

    #jessicafleur, enjoy this!

    I especially love the outfit and the “moves” with the microphone. Oh, man! LOL

  • Delta Dawn

    (Alex Harvey and Larry Collins)

    Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on
    Could it be a faded rose from days gone by
    And did I hear you say he was a-meetin’ you here today
    To take you to his mansion in the sky-eye

    She’s forty-one and her daddy still calls ‘er “baby”
    All the folks ’round Brownsville say she’s crazy
    ‘Cause she walks downtown with her suitcase in her hand
    Lookin’ for a mysterious dark-haired man

    In her younger days they called her Delta Dawn
    Prettiest woman you ever laid eyes on
    Then a man of low degree stood by her side
    Promised her he’d take her for his bride

    Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on
    Could it be a faded rose from days gone by
    And did I hear you say he was a-meetin’ you here today
    To take you to his mansion in the sky-eye

    Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on
    Could it be a faded rose from days gone by
    And did I hear you say he was a-meetin’ you here today
    To take you to his mansion in the sky-eye

    Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on
    Could it be a faded rose from days gone by
    And did I hear you say he was a-meetin’ you here today
    To take you to his mansion in the sky-eye

    Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on
    Could it be a faded rose from days gone by
    And did I hear you say he was a-meetin’ you here today
    To take you to his mansion in the sky-eye

  • A Little Something for Tee

    Heh, heh!

    I’ve seen Stu Hamm play this live a few times. People in the audience dance like the Peanuts gang. It’s fun!

  • The Birthday Song (Added Lyrics)

    I used to spend my birthday at The Oyster Festival in Norwalk. The first year that I did that (I was turning 19, I think), there was a kick-butt local blues band playing. They played Feelin’ Alright, and they played it really well. I loved it so much that it became “my birthday song”.

    I haven’t been to The Oyster Festival in years, but every year around my birthday, I am sure to listen to my birthday song at least once. I turn it up real loud, sing along, and sort of dance (one can’t really call what I do dancing – haha). This year, I’m sharing it with you:


    Seems I got to have a change of scene
    Cause every night I have the strangest dream
    Imprisoned by the way, yeah, it could’ve been
    Left here on my own or so it seems
    I got to leave before I start to scream
    But someone’s locked the door and took the key

    Feelin’ alright, (uh oh)
    Not feelin’ too good myself, (uh oh)
    Feelin’ alright, (uh oh)
    Not feelin’ that good myself, (uh oh)

    Boy you sure took me for one big ride
    Even now I sit and I wonder why
    And when I think of you I stop myself from cryin’
    I Just can’t waste my time I must get by
    Got to stop belivin’ in all your lies
    Cause there’s too much to do before I die

    Feelin’ alright, (uh oh)
    Not feelin’ too good myself, (uh oh)
    Oh no, Feelin’ alright, (uh oh)
    Not feelin’ that good myself, (uh oh)

    (Feelin’ alright) Don’t you get too lost in all I say
    Yeah, but at the time you know I really felt that way
    But that was then and now you know it’s today
    I can’t escape so I guess I’m here to stay
    ’til someone comes along to take my place
    With a different name and a different face