October 22, 2011

  • Saturday With The Sam

    On Saturdays, the kennel closes to the public at 11AM, so we get there as early as possible. Today, we got there just before 9AM. There was only one car parked out front, and it belonged to one of the girls who works there (She is sort of new and I cannot remember her name). That was unusual. It’s usually crazy-busy on Saturdays, with a lot of folks picking up and dropping off their pets.

    We opened the door, and Newish Girl and the owner were chatting in the reception area.

    “Good morning,” I said.

    Newish Girl giggled. “Oh, The Sam is already out and about.”

    “I think he’s in his spot by the dryer,” the owner added.

    Ken and I smiled at one another. There is something in their voices when they talk about our cat; a softness. They like him a lot. It makes my husband and I extra happy that we chose this kennel. 

    We walked into the next room, where the animals are bathed and otherwise groomed, and the laundry and dishes are done. The Sam likes to sit on the fuzzy little rug, right next to the dryer, whenever the dryer is running. It’s kind of loud, and he doesn’t like loud noises, but it is really warm, too, and The Sam is a kitty who likes a warm space. Also, the rug is underneath the grooming table, so it is a hideaway for The Sam. He especially likes that feature when there are dogs roaming back and forth.

    “Hiya, Handsome,” I half sang, happy to see his chubby little gray and white face peering up at me. He meowed back and stepped out from his warm-and-comfy hiding spot. After he gave my hand a headbutt, he lifted his front paws toward Ken: Pick me up, Daddy.

    My husband picked him up. Loud purring ensued. We squished him and petted him until he had enough: The Sam squirms when he’s done being squished. Ken let him down onto the floor. The Sam then led us to the back door and meowed to be let out into the doggy play yards. We looked outside first to make sure there were no loose dogs (most of them like The Sam, but there are some that only like cats for eating). Empty. Ken opened the door. Our little lion stepped out into the sunshine.

    We spent the next half hour exploring every blade of grass, every fallen leaf, every patch of mud, every puddle, and every little rock in all of the back play yards. There are four separate yards in the back. The Sam’s routine is to secure the perimeter of each one, and then gum his favourite patch of tall grass in each one. Each time he leaves one yard, he comes out and rubs against our legs before moving on to the next yard. We’re his.

    He took his time today, and explored each yard twice. It was sunny and not too cold, and none of the dogs were out, so it was quiet. Finally, The Sam stretched, yawned, and walked to the door to be let in. Ken opened the door. The Sam stepped inside, paused on the mat and wiped his paws. I had never seen him do that before, and it tickled me.

    Newish girl was standing just inside and saw me chuckling. “Oh, yeah.” She said. “He’s always so neat. I wish the dogs did that!”

    The Sam trotted past Newish Girl, into the reception area. A second later, I knew why: Katie had come in to work.

    The Sam loves Katie. She brings him outside to play. She gives him a warm towel, fresh from the dryer. She brushes him on her breaks. Katie shares her tuna salad sandwiches.

    “Sam-Sam!” she said, holding her arms out to him. Yeah. She calls him Sam-Sam. The Sam lifted his front paws to her. Pick me up, Katie.

    Yup. He loves her. She picked him up and he headbutted her chin. Hard. She giggled. Loud purring ensued.

    We stayed another hour and a half or so. The Sam went from my lap to Ken’s and back, getting brushed and petted. Whenever Katie walked by, he’d run up to her for a quick cuddle or pat on the head.

    They keep his kitty condo very clean, but I always do a quick cleanup before we leave. I get him fresh water, fresh dry food, clean off his towel, and clean out his litter box if necessary. It is something that I do more for me than anyone else; it keeps me feeling like The Sam’s mommy. While Ken and The Sam went for one last nature walk, I did my little cleanup thing. Katie came in and we chatted for a while.

    We talk about all sorts of things, but mostly, we talk about my cat. Today, Katie and I talked about how nice and sunny it was this morning, and how there were no dogs out and no other cats at the kennel because the business always slows down this time of year. We talked about The Sam, how Katie likes to take him out of his condo in the mornings when she comes in, and how he follows her around. How he sits out in the reception area and “helps” her sign other animals in. How he is good company.

    I mentioned how I was excited. “It won’t be too much longer now, and we’ll be together again.”

    “Yeah”, her voice changed. “You must be really psyched.”

    I felt a lump in my throat. Oh, my goodness. Is she going to cry? “Are you okay?” I asked.

    “I’m sorry,” Katie said. “It’s just… I’m going to miss him so much when he goes home!”

    I promised to bring him for visits.

    Gee, I thought on the way home, and she isn’t even a cat person.
     
    The power of The Sam knows no bounds.

Comments (22)

  • The power of The Sam knows no bounds.” The Sam has total control of all who follow his life. Amazing!!

  • This made me smile… he sounds like a true charmer. I hope this isn’t too sore of a subject, but I can’t remember… why did you have to board him? And as evidenced by the end of your post, you’re getting him back soon? (If so – great!) 

  • all it takes is a look.

  • Sam, the Sam, Sam I am, The Samster, Mr. SamMan.  Oy, so glad he is going to be with mommy and dad all the time.  

  • It was great reading this. I’m a cat lover but I haven’t had any around for a long time because of my living situation. I really miss them.

  • Nice! And thanks for your comment! God bless, ~ Pete

  • “Every person shall be a cat person!” – Sam

  • That was the sweetest story I ever read.  The Sam sounds awesome!

  • If the world could only harness the power of The Sam I imagine we could all live in perfect harmony!  I’m not surprised he’s converted a non-cat-person.  There are a few cats who can just DO THAT.

  • He is one of a kind.

    This was excellent CB.

  • Reading this made me smile.

  • aww that was a great read…I sort of get the same reaction when I come home from my cats.  They act like they haven’t seen me in ages.   Even now, they are right by my side.

    When I drive the interstate to Madison I always pass this big kennel/pet spa.  I’ve considered dropping off my cats for pampering but I figure if I do it once they will expect it more.

  • That sam is a charmer and owns the world.  Will be so wonderful when you have your 4 legged kid home soon.

  • Your Sam sounds like quite the character—a loveable one at that. <3 What a little charmer!

  • Considering the fact that I am all things canine, and I am fighting back the tears, I guess I can feel the power from here.  
    Of course, Newly has his own power. 

  • I was at my daughters new home on Friday, helping, when she turned her cats loose for the first time.  It was fun watching one begin the exploration.  The other one wouldn’t budge from the corner of the closet.

  • Awww, he sounds like a sweetie. Hope he’s home with you soon.

  • This is so sweet… Glad you will have your Sam with you all the time soon but in the mean time I’m glad he’s in a good place with people who love him. peace & sparkles

  • Cats become very special animals when their owners show them nothing but love and affection. You and Ken are great parents… 

    Thanks for sharing this story, it made me smile.

  • this made me smile for sure. and i’m not even a catlover :P

  • And again! God bless, ~ Pete

  • I’m really glad he’s going to be home with his peeps soon. But also, thank god you happened on just the right spot for him, with the right people. ♥

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *