March 17, 2012

  • Chickens! (Re-Post for Amanda)

    (Originally posted in September of 2009… one of my last Connecticut stories!)

    We live in a small, one-floor apartment complex in a rather rural area. Most of the large farms were done in by a big drought that began just before we moved up here in 2001, but there are a lot of smaller farms, and some folks who homestead. There are two horse properties about a quarter of a mile down the road, almost directly across the road from one another. There are two small dairy farms in that same direction, and then a big dairy about a mile up the road, going the other way. There is a woman who breeds sheep and spins the wool; she dyes it and sells it at the local stores. Her sheep sometimes wander onto our property, usually late at night.

    Behind us and up toward the next town over (East), Vernon, there is a man with “free range” chickens. I’ve gotten eggs from him, and they are delicious. I’ve never gotten a chicken from him because… well, I’m no plucker, okay?

    I fell asleep on the couch last night, watching B horror movies. I do that fairly often, and, when I do, one of my cats (usually Sam, my big boy-kitty) wakes me up early in the morning so I can fix kitty-breakfast. Nothing abnormal about that…

    … But this morning, both cats were running up and down the length of my body with excited purring (not the “I’m happy” kind, but the purr that sounds like the revving of little engines, over and over: purr-purr, purr-purr, purr-purr!). While I forced my eyes open and attempted to roll off of the couch without knocking a cat to the floor, I realised that there were other sounds going on.

    Did I leave Farmtown open on my Facebook last night?

    Seeing that I was awake, both cats, Sam and Mikey (my little girl-kitty) began meowing at me impatiently and then running to the front windows and the front door. Sam’s meows weren’t even full now; they sounded more like “meh”. That only happens when he is excited to the max… when someone or something is outside the door.

    The computer had been shut down. So what the heck is all of that noise?

    I moved to the right of the desk, two cats, one big, one small, doing figure eights around my ankles, and opened the blinds.

    Blinked.

    Rubbed my eyes, put my glasses back on (Ken had taken them from me while I slept and put them on the desk) and blinked again.

    What the heck???

    Chickens. LOTS of chickens, maybe a hundred were running all over the front yard. All over the parking lot. Ticking off the beavers in the pond; Bob, Doug, John Candy and Martin Short were in an uproar, splashing and then disappearing, over and over again.

    More chickens appeared from around back, running, clucking and pecking at one another.

    The first thing I thought of was Dracula (1931). Renfield’s big scene:

    “Ratssssss! Thousands of themmmmm…. MILLIONS of themmmmm!”

    Then, I remembered a Bill Engvall bit about “free range chickens”: Something about “the great herds of chickens that used to roam these lands.” I giggled to myself.

    “Bill Engvall should see this,” I said out loud… to the cats, I guess.

    Sam climbed up onto my printer (which sits just below the window to the right of my desk) and smooshed his chubby little face against the opened blinds and window glass, still meh-ing and revving his purr engine. He was drooling.

    Mikey popped up with her head beneath Sam’s, her back paws still on the floor (she is thin enough to get between the wall and the printer; Sam is not). Her mouth hung open. She was drooling, too, and so enthralled with the scene outside that she didn’t even slap Sam for drooling onto her forehead. We may have looked like a totem pole.

    The cats weren’t just watching the chickens. Now they were watching all of the neighbourhood cats that were slinking along the perimeter of the property, stalking the chickens.

    “Oh, my God,” I said. “The Great Chicken Massacre!”

    I was trying to think of what, if anything, I could do to stop the slaughter that was surely coming when the dogs showed up. BIG dogs. Where the hell did all of these dogs come from?

    “Holy shit!” I said, closing the blinds and removing my cats from the window area. “You guys don’t need to see this.”

    Should I call the police? Animal Control? Where the hell is my phone, anyway?

    Then I heard someone pulling into the driveway and beeping their horn. I slipped some fingers into the blinds and peeked.

    The chicken truck.

    The new coffee maker beeped: Ken remembered to program it before he went to sleep. I ran into the kitchen, cats following me, and poured myself a nice hot cup of coffee. I ran back out into the front room, and sat in the chair to the left of my desk; the cats accompanied me, front paws resting on the sill. I lifted the blinds and the three of us watched, mouths open.

    Two men jumped out of the truck. One man chased off some of the dogs; the other man began filling cages with chickens… the chickens that had not been torn apart by the cats and dogs. Some of the cats ran, and that got rid of pretty much all of the dogs… but a few cats – scrawny, stray-looking ones – stayed and feasted.

    It became a bit quieter, as the cages were loaded up onto the truck and covered with what looked like old blankets.

    As the truck backed out, Doug McKenzie, the largest of our beavers, jumped up onto the edge of the pond. He made some kind of squeaking noise, and I swear to God, it looked like he raised a fist toward the truck.

    I laughed. HARD.

    Sam and Mikey did not look so amused.

    I promised to roast a chicken tonight, and share it with them.

     

Comments (37)

  • where’s a video camera when you need one? :)

  • I love free range chicken! In Vietnam we call them “Walking Chickens.” Hehe. 

  • This is so awesome!!! 

    I second jerjoni – no camera?  *sigh*

  • Ha! That’s a lot of chicken ruckus!

  • Hahahaha!!!!

    Where you live sounds amazing.

  • Ha ha ha ha ha!  Thanks, I needed this.

  • Love the names you have for your beavers! ha!

    This is just so bizarre , that I don’t know what to say!! Other than thank you for sharing this with us.

    Hells Bells CB, you have GOT to get a video cam!! LOLOL

  • Well that’s not a sight you see everyday! I’m glad the cavalry arrived before they all got wiped out. Great post!

  • pure awesomeness

  • I understand totally and completely about chicken troubles. This sounds like something I’d see here. Oh wait-i have seen it here. Glad to know I”m not the only one

  • LOl…omg, V!  You guys have so much excitement up there for a rural area, lol.  That’s a scene straight out of Green Acres!  lol

    Btw, I am glad to see you using SamsPeeps again.  I like your personal stories and I had missed them.

    Btw btw, loved the names of your  beavers.  lol  Bob and Doug McKenzie?  I’ll bet when he raised his beaver fist toward heaven he was prob sayinig, “Take off you hoseheads!”

  • I would have loved to have seen that. You do tell a story well. 

  • oh my God, you, I laughed my ASS off and considering the size of it, that’s really saying something.  I wish I had been able to see the three of you.  Hahahahaha.  Love the names of the beavers too.

  • The best tasting chicken is the one you pluck and clean and fry or roast. Too bad you couldn’t do that. Poor Sam and Mikey too. But that’s one good story, girl.

  • lol the beaver raised a fist at the truck! Om that was funny!

  • This is hilarious!!! I just had to print this to read to Larry; he’s still out in living room laughing his butt off. Thanks for the story!!!

  • When my cats see anything bird=like, they make a strange little ack-ack sound. Your cats are very un catlike. I loved the story, especially the beaver shaking his fist. I mean raising (see, I DID read it)

  • Ah….the call of the wild at its finest!  My FB comment is even more poignant and insightful now!!

  • The Great Escape, with chickens!

  • I am laughing out loud imagining that scene! Chickens from Hell all over the place! Why are the beavers named after guys from Second City and the Mackenzie brothers?  Eh?  

  • Thank you for the lovely hysterical telling of this chicken story. Wonderful way to start out a morning.

  • the hosers…might i reccomend the Beer up the ass chicken courtesy of FAT al roker …..now, open can of beer, take the chef’s 1/3 can to make sure it’s good beer…plus you only need 8 ouces of beer, shove up chicken butt  and otherwise roast as usual….much more flavorful chicken…duh, goes good with beers you “hosers”

  • I am still imagining this in my mind.   I love that you poured some coffee, lifted the blinds and watched the show. Thank you for the great laugh.

  • great adventure … you had me at “Renfield” … love Dracula movies … “The Great Chicken Massacre” … i’m still smao …

  • this sounds like a scene from Kauai…there are wild chickens EVERYWHERE!!  Entertaining post.

  • Chickens make for some great viewing.  I wait for the day when my two bull dogs discover my daughters chickens.  Scouts honor I won’t be the one to introduce them.

  • What a circus! I’m sure the cats enjoyed the carnage (evven if it was just watching from the inside)!

  • Now THIS is a story! My favorite line, “We may have looked like a totem pole.” Many thanks to StVi for rec’ing it.

  • HAHAHA! I love the image of you just kicking back with a mug of coffee and watching it all. What a great way to start the day! Hahaha!

  • My neighbor has chickens. Not so much freerange as it’s just he’s too lazy to be responsible for them. I spend almost every day shooing them back where they belong.

  • That is… bizarre. Wow. (And hilarious.)

  • mother plucker!  what a great story : )

  • That definitely must of been a strange thing to wake up to.

  • Thank you for reposting this. It’s excellent!

  • LOL! That is hilarious! You tell your tales wonderfully. Thanks for sharing. peace & sparkles

  • You kept pet BEAVERS? That sounds like fun!

  • Now I can see why Diva has you listed as one of the best writers on Xanga on her top ten lists.  This is a great job.  Our chocolate lab really has a terrible issue with chickens.  Whenever they come on television for some reason, a commercial or anything, the dog just goes spastic, she just can’t stand the sound of chickens. This would have given her a heart attack.

     That’s why we can’t get any for the land either.

    You’ve got beavers too?  I mean, we don’t have beavers, but I meant, in addition to chickens you have beavers? Never a dull moment.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *