January 13, 2010

  • Sunrise


    I woke up early this morning and watched the sun come up over the trees and little houses behind our building. I was out there in the cold, cup of hot coffee in hand, just watching. For the first time in a long time, I wasn’t watching the sunrise to cheer myself up or feel comforted.

    I looked up over the bare trees (well, some of them aren’t strictly bare; some have icicles hanging from their otherwise naked limbs) and snow-covered rooftops and saw the beauty of gold and orange, red and violet light washing the sky behind them.  It is such a simple thing, a sunrise… But so lovely.

    For a long time – almost all of my life, really – I have been able to appreciate the sunrise, most notably from my wall on Grandma’s Beach (really called South Pine Creek Beach)… But the sun coming up is a wonder, no matter where you are.

    A new day. A new chance. A new everything!

    I know that some people don’t get it. People like my Brother #3, The Professor. He once said to me, “Big deal! The sun rises every day.”

    I said, “Not for all of us, asshole.”

Comments (16)

  • The image of the sun rising will stay in the mind of everyone who reads this post. Wonderful

    The Signature Of A True Human Is The Smile He/She Brings On The Face Of Others.
    LonelyPoet

  • Oh!  I love a beautiful sunrise and I don’t understand how anyone can’t appreciate how amazing each one is.  Your answer was perfect. 

  • The sun rising each day is very symbolic. We should all appreciate it like you’ve come to do. Never know when it will be your last.

  • Every time I chance to catch a beautiful sunrise, I ask myself, “Why aren’t you out here more often?”  But then, just try to get me out of bed!

  • Thank God the sunrise comes up for me everyday. :)

    I love this.

  • ha…I didn’t realize you were back…so welcome back

  • what a brilliant response.  ~  V

  • I think sunrises are gorgeous and each one should be appreciated!

  • I love sunrise . . . it’s like the sun whispers to you “This is it . . . I’m giving you another chance . . . don’t screw it up this time . . .”

  • I think sunrises are soothing….beautiful and gives me another day to try to figure out what the F**k I’m doing here.  Nice post, V!

  • I love sunrises. Driving out very earlyin the morning, on the highway sometimes, headed East, and I see the red large ball outlined against the sky, and I have to pull over, just to feel it in my being. It is so spectacular. Always!

  • I love sunrises. One seems to see them a lot less than sunsets.

  • We can’t appreciate something until we actually “SEE IT” We can be right in the middle of something wonderful and miss it,if we aren’t willing to see.  I love a sunrise.  Fills me up with possibliities.  Hugs to you, Peeps!

  • I love what each sunrise symbolizes. It is hard not to appreciate seeing the sun rise each day.

  • Thanks for the rec and the traffic on my post.

  • We should appreciate every moment, every minute and every hour of our life because we probably won’t be here tomorrow to appreciate the same thing.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *