Month: April 2010

  • Fishy Friday, Episode One: My First Walleye


    NOTE: Ken took a bunch of pictures of this “experiment,” but none of them have reached my email (our phone service has been horrible since we moved out here!). It looks like I won’t have any Walleye photographs for this post. It’s a shame. It really looked interesting, and I wanted you to see this dish at each stage. If I ever get the pictures, I will add them and re-post this.

    For the last few months, we’ve eaten fish for dinner, every Friday. It started as a Lent thing; all of the local restaurants had fish specials. My husband and my father-in-law love fish, and I began to groove on it again (I used to eat seafood all of them time, long ago and far away). I suggested that we keep our little tradition after Lent ended. My guys seemed happy at the prospect of more fish dinners.

    The thing is, going out to eat gets expensive (now that Lent is over, the “fish specials” are over, too). Ken and I are not working, and I don’t want to bankrupt my FIL.

    I love to cook, and I am in need of some kind of FUN challenge… You know, as opposed to all of the NOT-fun challenges life has been throwing my way! So, at least every other Friday, I will be cooking up some kind of fish dish, and if all goes well, I will post the recipe here for you guys. Hopefully, I will be able to add photographs.

    I’m really jumping into the deep end with this first episode of Fishy Friday. I’d never even TASTED Walleye before, and I purchased the fish without a recipe in mind. I figured I would find something on the Internet. Huh! I found three or four recipes. Some had ingredients that either my husband or my FIL can’t (or won’t) eat. I mixed and matched a little and came up with tonight’s recipe. My guys really enjoyed it… and I did, too. The Walleye has now become my favourite fish. It was not greasy at all, but not dry, either. It was light and flaky, but filling. AND… It didn’t stink up the apartment… So, yeah. I will definitely be doing more experiments with this fish!

    Before I give you the recipe, there are a few things that I want to tell you (warn you?) about, for this and any future Fishy Friday blogs I post:

    1.    I don’t catch the fish (Wouldn’t it be exciting if I did? Maybe someday…). I never learned how to clean fish, either. Perhaps, if I really get into this, I will learn (I’ve heard that my mother-in-law is an expert; maybe I can get her to teach me at some point.). For now, I’m making good friends in the seafood department of the local market.
    2.    All ingredient amounts are estimates. I hardly ever use measuring cups or spoons when I cook. I use my hands and my eyes.

    Here are a couple of “rules” in my kitchen (okay, technically, it is my FIL’s kitchen, but when I am cooking, it is my space). Really, it’s just common sense:

    1.    Always wash your hands before you touch any food. Wash them again after handling raw ingredients (like fish). Just keep washing and drying your hands!
    2.    Keep your hair back and out of the food. Yuck!
    3.    Be organized. Get everything you need together before you even preheat the oven. It saves time, helps prevents messes, and keeps you from getting stressed out, searching for something at the last minute.
    4.    If you are coughing, sneezing, have a fever, et cetera; get the heck out of the kitchen!
     

    Baked Walleye

    You will need:

    Approximately 1 lb Walleye Fillets (4 fillets)
    4 strips Uncooked Bacon
    1 cup Sour Cream
    ½ cup Breadcrumbs
    ½ cup grated Parmesan Cheese
    2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
    ¼ tsp Ground Thyme
    ½ tsp Dried Parsley Flakes
    2 Tbsp Yellow Onion, finely chopped
    3 Tbsp Softened Butter
    Salt & Pepper
    A shallow baking pan (I line mine with aluminum foil, “dull side” up)

    1. Preheat the over to 325 degrees F.

    2. Lay the bacon strips out on the pan.

    3. Salt and pepper the fish fillets on both sides.

    4. In a small bowl (I used the plastic tub that the butter came in), mix the chopped onion and the butter. Spread on both sides of each fish fillet (this is messy, but kind of fun!).

    5. Place a fillet on top of each bacon strip (lengthwise) in the pan.

    6. In a small mixing bowl, combine the sour cream, grated cheese, breadcrumbs, lemon juice thyme and parsley. Spread this mixture on top of the fish.

    7. Bake at 325 degrees for 35 minutes, or until the topping is golden brown.

    I served this with a simple tossed salad and mashed baby red potatoes.

  • Blogging Less


    Because of our current state of unemployment (please, friends, keep your fingers crossed for us!), much of our time is spent… well, you know: Trying to join the ranks of the working people.

    I’m blogging a bit less over here. What little time I do spend writing… Well, I journal a bit and I write poems for National Poetry Month, over on my other Xanga account. I feel lucky to get a poem a day out… and folks, there is only one word to describe my poetry: BAD!

    While we are staying with my FIL, the only place for the computer is in the living room, on a coffee table, across from the television. I live with two men who are hard of hearing, so the TV is always on full blast. These same men don’t quite understand that while I am writing, I am unable to hold a conversation. They try to talk to me anyway. Sigh.

    I spend a lot of time out on the little (standing room only) porch with my notebook and pen. I can only stay on my feet for so long – and if it rains, forget it (it is an uncovered porch). I don’t get much done, writing-wise.

    I feel like I am a “bad blogger,” but then, I’ve rarely felt like a “good blogger.” I’m just a chiquita who likes to write.

    There are changes coming my way – the good kind. It is killing me, not having time to write in detail all about these upcoming changes. When we’re employed and settled in our own place (when the computer will hopefully have its very own little – quiet room!), I will definitely clue you all in!

    In the meantime, I won’t be doing much blogging on this site, just little updates… Oh! Like this:

    The Sam is doing extremely well. He has lost one pound in two weeks on his diet. The new food (Turkey & Rice… Two of his very favourite things to eat!) has done wonders for him. He’s been active and playful like a kitten. He enjoys chasing his puppy-cousin, Nibbler, all over the house, up and down the stairs. His coat has become even softer than it was before (think rabbit fur). The fur that was shaved around his backside and tail is growing back in quickly, and beautifully. Even his eyes seem brighter!   

    The Sam has a crush on one of his kitty-cousins, a pretty little thing named Princess Gleep. She wants nothing to do with him. He tries to show off for her, flexing his muscles, doing flips, et cetera… The Sam even tries to share his food and toys with her! What does he get for all of his efforts? She hisses and growls, and tries to smack his nose!

    The other day, when The Sam was rejected with extreme prejudice, he ran to me, crying. I told my broken-hearted furry little man, “That’s why they call them crushes,” and advised him to back off… But The Sam is somewhat obsessed (Well, Princess Gleep is a beautiful kitty; her coat is black and shiny, with a little tuft of white just beneath her throat, and she has exotic, slightly slanted, bright green eyes); he keeps trying. The Sam doesn’t understand how any female could reject him.

    Frankly, neither can I. I find him irresistible! Here he is yesterday, with his favourite toy in the world, my husband, Ken:

    Hope to update again soon. Please, keep us in your prayers, and we will keep all of you in ours.  

  • Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ


    My father-in-law took us out to dinner last night. He had a hankering for ribs, and he wanted to try out a place that he’d never been to before. Someone where he worked recommended Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ, on Packers Avenue in Madison. Ken and I love ribs, so there were no objections.

    I had not had ribs in about a year; I hadn’t had really good ribs in several years. This place has won a lot of awards for their ribs, so I was excited to check them out.

    Technically, the little restaurant (the dining room had maybe a dozen tables) snagged my heart before I even saw the menu. It smelled wonderful in there, the décor was very rustic, and the music, playing at just the right volume, was ALL BLUES!

    You order and pay for everything up front and then sit wherever you want. All of the red and white checkerboard clothed tables are for two; the three of us slid two tables together, following the cue of other diners. There is a roll of paper towels on each table. The waitress brought our dinners over on paper plates.

    We each ordered a half-slab dinner: plenty of lip-smacking, falling-off-the-bone ribs, two sides (I went with a little veggie salad and American potato salad), and a roll with butter.

    Just as I went to take my very first bite, Robert Johnson came on over the speakers, Kind-Hearted Woman Blues…

    … And I had the most wonderful dinner! It was so perfect! The ribs were amazing. The salad, while pretty plain, was fresh and crisp, a nice, simple compliment to the meat. Their American potato salad was very much like my best friend, Jeanne’s potato salad, which means it ROCKED. We ate, we laughed, and we enjoyed the music.

    Eric Clapton and B.B. King came on just when we were ready to leave… so we stayed a few more minutes and listened to Rock Me Baby. I smiled across the table at my father-in-law. “Thank you,” I said. “This was a really cool idea!”

    Both of my guys agreed. We will definitely be going there again.

    If you are ever in the Madison area, I highly recommend Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ. Great food and great tunes to wash it down with!

    Bring someone you love.

  • Nelson, Have You Ever…?

    Tried Flamin’ Hot Funyuns?


    I’m on a diet, so they are a no-no for me right now. Please tell me if you’ve tried the “Flamin’ Hot” flavour, and if they were any good…

  • Aging, The Sam and I


    Our boy-kitty, The Sam and I have pretty much always been big. When we were younger, we ate whatever we wanted; it was (almost) all converted into energy. Yep. When we were younger, we were darned near athletic.

    Sigh.

    Recently, The Sam and I each found out that we aren’t exactly young (or athletic) anymore. All of that food we eat nowadays… well, it doesn’t turn into energy like it used to. Now, it basically converts to blubber.

    Tomorrow, The Sam and I begin making changes. Good, common sense, doctor-approved/suggested changes to the food we eat and how active we are… The beginnings of a life plan for Not-So-Young-No-More, Not-Very-Athletic-These-Days-Huh Chubbies, one of us slightly furrier than the other.

    The Sam is already doing better than I am as far as exercise goes. He has a puppy to chase around, after all.

    I am betting he will do better with his diet than I will with mine, too. He gets to eat a lot of turkey (his favourite food).

    Neither one of us is having an easy time with this “older” thing… but we’re determined to let it go, take good care of ourselves, and just enjoy the rest of our lives.  

  • Is It Funny?


    Last night, I wanted to steal a few minutes on the computer (Ken was online, gaming). He said, “No problem. I’m going out for a smoke,” and then he walked into the sliding glass door. Smack!

    I couldn’t stop laughing – and I wrote it up on Facebook. I had to share that laugh with someone, and it was much too late in the evening to call my best friend, Jeanne.

    For almost an hour after it happened, every time I looked at my husband, I’d burst out laughing, and then he’d shake his head and chuckle. Even now, writing this down, I’m giggling to myself… and Ken just asked, “Are you writing about me and the patio door?”

    If he’d hurt himself, it would not be funny… but he didn’t, and it was!

    Do you laugh at stuff like that?