April 21, 2010

  • Blogging Less


    Because of our current state of unemployment (please, friends, keep your fingers crossed for us!), much of our time is spent… well, you know: Trying to join the ranks of the working people.

    I’m blogging a bit less over here. What little time I do spend writing… Well, I journal a bit and I write poems for National Poetry Month, over on my other Xanga account. I feel lucky to get a poem a day out… and folks, there is only one word to describe my poetry: BAD!

    While we are staying with my FIL, the only place for the computer is in the living room, on a coffee table, across from the television. I live with two men who are hard of hearing, so the TV is always on full blast. These same men don’t quite understand that while I am writing, I am unable to hold a conversation. They try to talk to me anyway. Sigh.

    I spend a lot of time out on the little (standing room only) porch with my notebook and pen. I can only stay on my feet for so long – and if it rains, forget it (it is an uncovered porch). I don’t get much done, writing-wise.

    I feel like I am a “bad blogger,” but then, I’ve rarely felt like a “good blogger.” I’m just a chiquita who likes to write.

    There are changes coming my way – the good kind. It is killing me, not having time to write in detail all about these upcoming changes. When we’re employed and settled in our own place (when the computer will hopefully have its very own little – quiet room!), I will definitely clue you all in!

    In the meantime, I won’t be doing much blogging on this site, just little updates… Oh! Like this:

    The Sam is doing extremely well. He has lost one pound in two weeks on his diet. The new food (Turkey & Rice… Two of his very favourite things to eat!) has done wonders for him. He’s been active and playful like a kitten. He enjoys chasing his puppy-cousin, Nibbler, all over the house, up and down the stairs. His coat has become even softer than it was before (think rabbit fur). The fur that was shaved around his backside and tail is growing back in quickly, and beautifully. Even his eyes seem brighter!   

    The Sam has a crush on one of his kitty-cousins, a pretty little thing named Princess Gleep. She wants nothing to do with him. He tries to show off for her, flexing his muscles, doing flips, et cetera… The Sam even tries to share his food and toys with her! What does he get for all of his efforts? She hisses and growls, and tries to smack his nose!

    The other day, when The Sam was rejected with extreme prejudice, he ran to me, crying. I told my broken-hearted furry little man, “That’s why they call them crushes,” and advised him to back off… But The Sam is somewhat obsessed (Well, Princess Gleep is a beautiful kitty; her coat is black and shiny, with a little tuft of white just beneath her throat, and she has exotic, slightly slanted, bright green eyes); he keeps trying. The Sam doesn’t understand how any female could reject him.

    Frankly, neither can I. I find him irresistible! Here he is yesterday, with his favourite toy in the world, my husband, Ken:

    Hope to update again soon. Please, keep us in your prayers, and we will keep all of you in ours.  

Comments (35)

  • Maybe you could go to a local park to write =]

  • Thanks for this update.  I hope everything turns out the way it should and I can’t wait for the next update. :0)

  • Good to hear from you! Glad Sam’s good.

  • Hang tough, darlin’ – you’re on the cusp . . . I can feel it. I’m so excited for you. And as for The Sam . . . well, maybe you could teach him to play hard to get . . . women love men that seem unattainable! LOL!

  • Good luck in the job hunt CB. Consider my fingers crossed for you.

    I have every faith in Sam’s ability with females.

  • Don’t feel like a bad blogger. I understand about not always having time. And good luck with getting a job. I know how hard it is to get a job.

  • Take your time. Actually you owe it to no one. Just write and nobody has the right to say that what you write is “bad.” 

  • I can go to Starbucks and use my mini-laptop while sipping coffee, listening to their music and glancing at people surreptitiously.

    I wish you well.

    blessings

    frank

  • well this was one great post.  Hope ya get work soon, but in the mean time, those living quarters sound pretty cozy.

  • I giggled…yes giggled….like a little school girl…

  • Totally in my prayers…and please know, you are missed!!!
    Sam..is ALMOST as fat as my cat…gracious me!

  • I’ll keep you all in my prayers!

  • I pray that something wonderful comes your way soon. Always have hope and faith. Miraculously, when you least expect, a door opens.

    Blessings.

  • You have been in my thoughts and prayers.  I know there is something for both of you around the corner. It’s good to read Sam is as spry as he has always been…P.G is playing hard to get…Sam is one cool kitty;he’ll have her at his paws in no time~

    Blessing to you and Ken, My Chiquita <3

  • Have you in my thoughts and my fingers crossed for certain. 

  • (pats heart and points to you)

  • Keep your spirits high and many wishes for great luck!

  • The men you live with sound like my kids who are always interrupting me when I try to write. I hope they don’t try to talk to you when your on the toilet and phone too–somehow I’m always needed while I’m engaged in the potty/phone business 

    You’re in my prayers. Don’t overload, and take it easy. And you’re a great blogger – don’t doubt that ever

  • Sending positive employment energy your way! I can understand that not being the best writing conditions. You do way better than me and I don’t even have all the issues you are having right now. Sam is a beauty. peace & sparkles

  • I’m sure it’s a challenge~ you painted a good picture of you on that tiny porch.   Even though I still have five kids at home~ it’s pretty easy to blog~ they are pretty quiet during home school.  But now that the grandbaby is here~ I’m finding it a bit of a challenge to break myself away from her and my daughter~ so my blog may be slim pickin’s this month. 

    Know there is a place for you~ and it will have the perfect nook for writing~ with plenty of quiet and inspiration.

  • At least we’re not alone with such a high unemployment rate in this country. Thanks for letting us all know about it so we can send positive energies your way. It hard to imagine how things could have gotten so bad that someone with your talent and motivation could be without a gig. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. Hope the weekend is great for you!

  • @Nameless_woman - Thank you. I miss you, too!

    … but HEY! The Sam is NOT fat… he’s just big-boned. LOL!

  • @youandwhosearmy - I am scared of you sometimes, G. FF!

  • @crazy2love - Thanks. That wouldn’t be a bad idea, but there are always a bunch of kids… noisy… But who knows? Maybe there’s another park, farther from the schools, that I don’t know about? I will ask around.

    @ccarothers - @DistantShipSmoke - @ChainGangSoldier619 - 
    @Norcani - @ANVRSADDAY - @rnjennison - @TheCheshireGrins - 
    @ZSA_MD - @Cynsjrl - @MooncatBlue - @Jaynebug - @slinky - 
    Thank you so much. You are such sweet people!

    @ShamelesslyRed - LOL I had to laugh… Yes, they bother me when I’m in the bathroom, and ESPECIALLY when I am on the phone! Thank you for the sweet comment!

    @peacenow - Thank you… and yeah, The Sam is one goooooood-looking little man, huh? LOL  Wish Princess Gleep would see it.

    @WildWomanOfTheWest -  You are such a cool chiquita. Thank you!

    @RobTomas - That was one of  the nicest comments… thank you so much! ::: hugs :::

    @Cynsjrl - LOL Yes The Sam WILL win her heart… eventually.

    @Bricker59 - Thanks, CB. I think that The Sam will prevail… once his fur completely grows back in (It almost looks like he has an elephant tail right now – bizarre!), and his confidence is back up to 120%… he’ll either win her over or he’ll be over her. =”^..^”=

    @jacksoncroons - LOL The Sam is like his Mommy… he wears his heart out on his paw, doesn’t “do” subtle, and is incapable of playing hard to get. Sigh. I feel like there’s a lot of great stuff, just around the corner, too… it’s just getting around this massive corner that is killing us, you know? I want my own digs with my kitty in my lap whenever he WANTS to be in my lap, and waking me up in the morning because he’s hungry or he just wants mommy-lovinz… and Ken and I want to run around naked whenever we feel like it, fight as loudly as we want, and… well, you know: LIVE. I want to be able to cook with lots of spices and mushrooms and peppers (his dad can’t eat any of that).

  • Good luck with your job search.

  • Hey that’s one really cute cat!  oops, and I was talking about the actual cat, lol, the husband is pretty cute too.  DON’T call yourself a bad poet!  That’s just wrong!

    I hate living with people who are half deaf, I had to do that once and the woman drove me NUTS NUTS NUTS!  Poor YOU!

    We’ll see ya when we see ya, friend!

  • I do wish you luck in your search for employment.

  • good luck on the job hunt.  

  • yes, the noise level was always a big issue in my life, too…you know I do believe that something wonderful is on its way to you. Any minuted, now, it will be knocking at you door.. hmmm… quietly, of course.

  • I find him totally irresistible too, and if I were a kitty, I would be all over him!  ha!

    No worries on the frequency of your posts, girl, just….stay in touch pls, k?

    Do you still have my phone number?
    Oh wait.  I have a new one.

  • I’m sorry about all the hard times you and yours are going through, Ness. But you are always in my prayers and I wish for good tidings to come your way soon. Never lose hope.

  • I’ll be thinking about you and hoping everything works out! :) I’m glad The Sam is doing good!

  • @sweet_sinceritee - Msg it to me? Hopefully, soon I will have new phone service (I’ve been having all kinds of trouble with my T-Mobile since we moved out here… apparently, we don’t live near one of their towers or whatever). Being out of touch with people is making me crazy!!!

    … and trust me. You’re The Sam’s type (one of the girls that he LOVES at the vet’s office here looks a LOT like you!). LOL

    @zionlover - I’m voting you Sweetest Guy On Xanga… EVER.
    ::: hugs ::: thank you so much. You’re always so encouraging.

    @bethb031409 - Thank you! We went and saw The Sam yesterday… we got so tuckered out from running around with him (he’s got some new toys, now, exercise stuff, and he’s loving it, so long as my husband and I participate), we ended up taking a nap together, the three of us! I didn’t weigh him again, but we could feel a difference when picking him up; he’s definitely turning into a lean mean kitty machine!

    @momzmybiz - @edlives - Thank you. I really appreciate it!

    @Harpos_Mark - @And_I_love - Thank you, ladies… My mom was deaf in one ear from a stroke she had back in the 1970s, so I am sort of used to it. Still… I can’t wait to have a quiet, comfortable spot to write all of these stories building up in my head!

  • @SamsPeeps -  I am The Sam’s type????  Oh frubjous day! Callooh, callay!!!  :)

    k.  Ima message it.  ::hugs::

  • It goes without saying I need to allow in that the most part of what you verbalize coincides with my wits
    juniors clothes | Louisiana tourism | secretary sex video

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *