April 16, 2010

  • Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ


    My father-in-law took us out to dinner last night. He had a hankering for ribs, and he wanted to try out a place that he’d never been to before. Someone where he worked recommended Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ, on Packers Avenue in Madison. Ken and I love ribs, so there were no objections.

    I had not had ribs in about a year; I hadn’t had really good ribs in several years. This place has won a lot of awards for their ribs, so I was excited to check them out.

    Technically, the little restaurant (the dining room had maybe a dozen tables) snagged my heart before I even saw the menu. It smelled wonderful in there, the décor was very rustic, and the music, playing at just the right volume, was ALL BLUES!

    You order and pay for everything up front and then sit wherever you want. All of the red and white checkerboard clothed tables are for two; the three of us slid two tables together, following the cue of other diners. There is a roll of paper towels on each table. The waitress brought our dinners over on paper plates.

    We each ordered a half-slab dinner: plenty of lip-smacking, falling-off-the-bone ribs, two sides (I went with a little veggie salad and American potato salad), and a roll with butter.

    Just as I went to take my very first bite, Robert Johnson came on over the speakers, Kind-Hearted Woman Blues…

    … And I had the most wonderful dinner! It was so perfect! The ribs were amazing. The salad, while pretty plain, was fresh and crisp, a nice, simple compliment to the meat. Their American potato salad was very much like my best friend, Jeanne’s potato salad, which means it ROCKED. We ate, we laughed, and we enjoyed the music.

    Eric Clapton and B.B. King came on just when we were ready to leave… so we stayed a few more minutes and listened to Rock Me Baby. I smiled across the table at my father-in-law. “Thank you,” I said. “This was a really cool idea!”

    Both of my guys agreed. We will definitely be going there again.

    If you are ever in the Madison area, I highly recommend Smoky Jon’s #1 BBQ. Great food and great tunes to wash it down with!

    Bring someone you love.

Comments (18)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *